Battered But Brave

Isnt it funny how a constant encounter with unfortunate events can cause
one to snap!

well, welcome to my
life

Have you ever caught yourself saying your life sucked,
or you wished you would die?

join the freaking
club

but these so-called “unfortunate” events have reason to
be

it has taken me a little over 5 years to see
that

i have been battered and beaten, but yet im still
standing

i have been tortured and emotionally abused, but
yet i am still standing

i have lost my mother, but yet….i
am still standing

you notice the
pattern?

well i do, no matter what lifes thrown at me thus
far

ive not only walked out of the
situation

but ive walked out a little stronger, a littler
wiser, and much braver

thats 3 traits that most people in
this world will never ever posses

and i just so happen to
gain all 3

sometimes i wonder “but god, why me?”

but i also know probably a million other people ask
themselves that question too!

did you ever think of
that?

over a million other people are going through the same
hardships as i have

but yet i ask myself “god why
me”?

then i start to question myself why
not?!

im still here arent i?
“what
doesnt kill you makes you stronger” riiight?

suprisingly, it
has taken my husbands recent deployment for me to appreciate
life

i no longer wonder why these things happen to
me

yess, i do hate the fact that unfortunate things come my
way

but look at the outcome
from being
battered and beaten

ive gained a wonder amazing
son

from the torture and abuse
ive
gained strength

and from losing my
mother

ive not only met the man of my dreams
but ive gained a new family
and a
newfound appreciation towards life

im convinced these things
happen for a reason

even if it means i have to fight through
pain

swim through tears
and cross over
a mountain of depression

im no longer going to let life
bring me down

im finally walking the path to
happiness

and i refuse to turn around

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

